Ohio re-elects Cripe as president

June 18-20
Columbus, Ohioohio-cripe.gif


  • Rev. Terry Cripe, Olmsted Falls, Ohio, president, second term, by acclamation.

  • Dr. John C. Davidson, Lancaster, Ohio, first vice president, representing the Southeast Region.

  • Dr. David Zachrich, Tallmadge, Ohio, second vice president, North Central Region.

  • Rev. Peter Marcis, Napoleon, Ohio, third vice president, Northwest Region.

  • Rev. Gerald Matzke, Painesville, Ohio, fourth vice president, Northeast Region.

  • Rev. Arthur Casci, Fairborn, Ohio, fifth vice president, Southwest Region.
  • Meeting under the theme of “One Message: Many Contexts,” based on Matt. 9:35, delegates voted to:

  • expand the district from three regions to five regions to allow more effective support of congregations. With 13 members, the district board of directors will include the district secretary, one lay person and one ordained minister from each region, and two commissioned ministers at-large. The president and five vice presidents will be non-voting members.

  • recommended to the Blue Ribbon Task Force on Synod Structure and Governance that it propose changes to the Synod’s Constitution and Bylaws to allow commissioned ministers to be elected as delegates to district and Synod conventions.

  • allow non-delegate members of the district board of directors to attend the district convention as guests without voting privileges.
  • Bruce Kintz, president of Concordia Publishing House, presented a $500 certificate to Prince of Peace Lutheran Church, Oregon, Ohio, so the congregation can begin a church library.

    Steve Cohen, executive director of Apple of His Eye Ministries, reported on evangelism efforts among Jewish people.

    Posted June 24, 2009

    Return to Top

    Reporter Online is the Web version of Reporter, the official newspaper of
    The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod. Content is prepared by LCMS Communications.

    Comments are closed.
    LCMS News & Information