Convocation will discuss Synod's 'theological principles'

A theological convocation set for Aug. 18-20 in St. Louis will deal with principles that undergird the formation and structure of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod.

“Congregation — Synod — Church” will be the general theme for the convocation, sponsored by the Commission on Theology and Church Relations (CTCR), working with the Council of Presidents (COP).  The convocation is supported by a grant from Thrivent Financial for Lutherans.

The convocation dates were set in December by the convocation planning committee, consisting of the officers and executive director of the CTCR, three members of the COP program committee, and three representatives from the theology subcommittee of the Blue Ribbon Task Force on Synodical Structure and Governance.  Ex officio members are Synod President Dr. Gerald B. Kieschnick and task force Chairman Rev. Robert Greene.

“This is a major link in the process of preparing the Synod for involvement in considering the recommendations of the Blue Ribbon Task Force at the 2010 convention,” said Dr. Samuel H. Nafzger, CTCR executive director.  “This national convocation on the theological principles on which the Synod is founded will set a pattern for follow-up theological conferences and discussions at the district, circuit, and local levels.”

He said the planners intend to have an outside speaker discuss the contemporary culture and society in which the church carries out God’s mission.  Presentations by
representatives of the Synod’s seminaries will address “Congregation — Synod — Church,” a document the task force sent to pastors and congregations last year with the 2007 Convention Workbook.  The convocation will include time to discuss preliminary proposals from the task force.

The convocation participants will include 100 parish pastors and laity selected by the presidents of the Synod’s 35 districts and chosen primarily from the delegates to the 2007 Synod convention.  Also participating will be the members of the COP, the CTCR, Synod officers, the LCMS Board of Directors, seminary and university presidents, representatives from the two seminary faculties, the Commission on Constitutional Matters, representatives from the Synod’s auxiliaries and corporate entities, the Blue Ribbon Task Force on Funding the Mission, and the Blue Ribbon Task Force on Synodical Structure and Governance.

Three days will be added to the beginning of the 2010 LCMS convention so that delegates can consider the final recommendations from the Blue Ribbon Task Force on Synodical Structure and Governance.

Posted Jan. 22, 2008

Return to Top

Reporter Online is the Web version of Reporter, the official newspaper of
The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod. Content is prepared by LCMS Communications.

Comments are closed.
LCMS News & Information