All 35 districts start round of `06 conventions

All 35 LCMS districts hold their conventions this year — just as they do every three years — starting with North Dakota’s Jan. 22-25 and ending with Central Illinois’ July 9-11.

Reporter plans to carry a summary story on each convention, as space and deadlines permit, beginning with the North Dakota and Missouri conventions in the March issue. 

June is definitely the busiest district convention period, with 25 set for that month. No district conventions are scheduled for March and most of April, to observe Lent and the first weeks of the Easter season.

“Conventions of the districts shall afford opportunities for worship, nurture, inspiration, fellowship, and the communication of vital information,” Bylaw 4.2.1 of the Synod’s Constitution stipulates.  “They are the principle legislative assemblies, which amend the district’s articles of incorporation and bylaws, consider and take action on reports and overtures, and handle appropriate appeals.”

Each convention also will hold elections for president and other top officers.  Voting delegates are expected to elect at least eight new presidents this year to succeed those planning to retire from service as district presidents.

Those districts are English, Missouri, North Wisconsin, Northern Illinois, Ohio, South Wisconsin, Texas, and Wyoming.

Posted Jan. 26, 2006

Return to Top

Reporter Online is the Web version of Reporter, the official newspaper of
The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod. Content is prepared by LCMS Communications.

Comments are closed.
LCMS News & Information