People RSS Feed

People RSS Feed


Hans Springer retires after 40-plus years of service

The “treasured and consistent servant-leader” most recently served as associate executive director of LCMS Mission Advancement.

Read more
David Fiedler addresses attendees at Concordia Historical Institute’s 42nd annual awards banquet in 2016. Fiedler is now beginning his second five-year term as president of the LCMS Foundation, which provides planned-giving and investment-management services to LCMS entities and congregation members. (LCMS/Erik M. Lunsford)

Fiedler to begin second five-year term as Foundation president

David Fiedler began serving in the LCMS Foundation post in 2013.

Read more
Michael Yurk, principal of St. Paul Lutheran School in Grafton, Wis., is honored as a 2017 National Distinguished Principal by the National Association of Elementary School Principals. The award was presented on Oct. 13 during a ceremony at the Capitol Hilton Hotel in Washington, D.C. (Joy Yurk)

Lutheran principal in Grafton, Wis., receives national recognition

Yurk is one of only four private/parochial school educators nationwide to receive the honor.

Read more
From left during the presentation of the “Reverend Melvin E. Witt Memorial Award” are Brigadier General (Ret.) Tracy Beckette, governor of the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC), holding the plaque of winners; Major (Ret.) Frank Tucker, winner of this year’s award, with his citation; Admiral Philip Davidson, commander, U.S. Navy Fleet Forces; and Michael Schoedel, MAC president. (Don Wolfinger)

‘Melvin Witt Award’ honors memory of longtime chaplain, World Relief director

The first award was given posthumously to Witt’s family in 2016, and this year’s award was presented to Major (Ret.) Frank Tucker.

Read more
Brenda Doering receives the “Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award” Nov. 12 from David J. Rabe, vice-president for Corporate Social Responsibility with Emerson, St. Louis. Doering teaches fourth grade at Abiding Savior Lutheran School in south St. Louis County.

Two Lutheran-school teachers win teaching-excellence award

Receiving the “Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award” Nov. 12 in St. Louis were fourth-grade teacher Brenda Doering and high school chemistry teacher Rich Langefeld.

Read more
Air National Guard Chaplain (Lt. Col.) James Buckman, left, receives the Bronze St. Martin of Tours Medal from Navy Chaplain (Capt. Ret.) Craig Muehler, director of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod’s Ministry to the Armed Forces Oct. 22 at Faith Lutheran Church, Lake Forest, Ill. The award recognizes Buckman, Faith’s pastor, for his outstanding pastoral service to the military. (Dave Huxsoll)

Buckman honored for service to military

Air Force Chaplain (Lt. Col.) James Buckman of Lake Forest, Ill., receives the Bronze St. Martin of Tours Medal.

Read more
LCMS News & Information