Harrison re-elected to third term as LCMS president

The Rev. Dr. Matthew C. Harrison, having received 56.96 percent of the votes cast, is the president-elect of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod for a third term of office, 2016-2019.



The nomination process for the position of Synod president began last fall with the mailing of nominations ballots to all congregations of the Synod. All nominations were required to be submitted by Feb. 9, 2016, or five months prior to the start of the Synod convention, when the ballots, received by an outside auditor, were tallied and delivered to the secretary of the Synod.

The resulting candidates for the office of president were the three ordained ministers who received the highest number of votes in the nominations process and who consented to serve if elected. The three nominees for Synod president were Harrison, the Rev. Dr. David P.E. Maier and the Rev. Dr. Dale A. Meyer.

Four weeks prior to the convention, the secretary’s office provided a secure method and opportunity for two voting delegates from each congregation to participate in the vote via electronic balloting services provided by Election-America, a Garden City, N.Y., company that conducted the balloting via a Web-based voting site, June 11-14. The voters in the president’s election were the congregations’ delegates in attendance at the 2015 district conventions.

The results of the ballot tallied and reported to the secretary of the Synod by Election-America are as follows:

  • Harrison was voted president-elect with 3,507 votes (56.96 percent);
  • Meyer received 2,257 votes (36.66 percent); and
  • Maier received 393 votes (6.38 percent).

The Bylaws of the LCMS instruct the secretary of the Synod to notify the candidates in the Synod’s presidential election of the results of the balloting at least two weeks prior to the convention. The candidates were informed earlier today, June 15, of the results of the June 11-14 ballot.

For more information, please go to lcms.org/convention.

Posted June 15, 2016

, ,

Reporter Online is the Web version of Reporter, the official newspaper of
The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod. Content is prepared by LCMS Communications.

19 Responses to Harrison re-elected to third term as LCMS president

  1. Rev JM Daub June 15, 2016 at 10:21 am #

    May the Lord bless you and give you strength, wisdom, courage, and understanding as you serve as Shepherd of our Synod. May the Lord always be at the center of your decisions for your office and our Synod.

  2. Javier Villarroel June 15, 2016 at 10:30 am #

    Congratulations Rev. Dr. Matthew c. Harrison on his re-election and continue serving God and living under their protection, greetings from Bolivia.

    Felicidades Rev. El Dr. Matthew c. Harrison por su reeleccion, continue sirviendo a Dios y viviendo bajo su amparo, saludos de Bolivia.

  3. Ravi Jesupatham June 15, 2016 at 11:18 am #

    “This is the LORD’S doing; it is marvellous in our eyes” Ps.118:19

    Congratulations to President Harrison on this greatest achievement!! Thanks be to God!

  4. Palm Family June 15, 2016 at 12:47 pm #

    Congratulations President Harrison! We are grateful for your faithful leadership of our synod. We pray that God would keep you safe and give you courage and steadfastness as you serve His church.

  5. Charles Froh June 15, 2016 at 1:25 pm #

    Our prayers for both you and the church that you have been called via ballot to lead once again The Lord keep you and His church cross-centered and faithful.

  6. David June 15, 2016 at 1:38 pm #

    President Harrison

    May God continue to bless His church as you lead our brothers and sisters in the LC-MS for another three years!

  7. Janet Hasler June 15, 2016 at 2:02 pm #

    President Harrison

    God’s Blessings and my best wishes as you lead us for another three years.

  8. Barbara Salter June 15, 2016 at 2:07 pm #

    Thanks be to God!

  9. Revd.Daniel Eliezer Paul Christopher June 15, 2016 at 2:53 pm #

    Thanks be to God ..Congrats Revd. Dr. Matt for winning in absolute majority style of 60% ..God has chosen you for the Third consecutive period of 2016 – 2019,..My wishes..Greetings..Prayers..Blessings..God Bless your dedicated ministry as President of LCMS..BEST WISHES……Revd. Daniel Eliezer..Pastor — IELC..Muscat.Oman.

  10. Catherine Bakinow June 15, 2016 at 3:05 pm #

    Dear Dr. Harrison,

    Congratulations, sir, upon your reelection. I believe you are a true man of God and a man who has a true heart for The Lord. I will be praying that The Lord will guide your every step, providing you with counsel and shielding you from all harm. May you lead this synod, and its pastors, into a closer walk with Our Lord. May every decision be to honor Him and to correct that which is displeasing in His sight.

  11. Nancy Teets June 15, 2016 at 9:13 pm #

    I thank God for the process and for the result. You are in my prayers, Pastor.

  12. Walter Raffel June 16, 2016 at 9:28 am #

    I am delighted and thank our Lord Jesus that Pastor Harrison was re-elected.

  13. William A. Rohrbach June 16, 2016 at 10:05 am #

    Congratulations and God’s Blessings for Rev Harrison’s continuing leadership of our Church and synod.

  14. Pr. Robert M. Bjornstad June 16, 2016 at 10:28 am #

    Congratulations President Harrison. May the Spirit give you the attitude of Jesus. May you lead us in showing the world that we are Hid disciples. May we be a blessing to all, just as God intends.

  15. Darlene Laubenstein June 16, 2016 at 12:01 pm #

    Congratulations! May God grant you His wisdom, strength and courage for the days ahead.

  16. Phil June 16, 2016 at 11:40 pm #

    Lord have mercy. Christ have mercy. Lord have mercy.

  17. Edward Doyel June 18, 2016 at 6:47 pm #

    Congratulations from a person in the CNH district. You again were appointed by God to lead His people

  18. Rev W. Busby June 20, 2016 at 3:40 pm #

    Congratulations from retired pastor añd son of Fl-Ga Dist. May God be with.

  19. Barbara Davis July 16, 2016 at 6:56 pm #

    Congratulations Pastor Harrison. May our Great God continue to hold you in the palm of his hand, guide you by His directions and continue to bless our Missouri Synod.

LCMS News & Information