Southern returns Schultz to top post

June 18-20
Baton Rouge, La.southern-conv-schultz.gif


  • Rev. Kurtis Schultz, Slidell, La., president, third term, first ballot.

  • Rev. Theodore (Ted) Richter, Parker, Fla., first vice president,

  • Rev. David Lewis, Hernando, Miss., second vice president.

  • Rev. John Karle, Natchitoches, La., third vice president.

  • Rev. David Doroh, Florence, Ala., fourth vice president.
  • With the convention theme “Spirit Kindle,” based on Acts 1:8, delegates to the 72nd convention of the Southern District resolved to:

  • embrace outreach as the district’s chief objective by establishing a goal of at least 200,000 Ablaze! critical events in the next triennium.

  • encourage circuit congregations to give prayerful thought and discussion to the possibility of planting a new church in their circuit and work toward a minimum of five new church plants in the next triennium.

  • commend the work of the Blue Ribbon Task Force on Synod Structure and Governance and encourage the 2010 Synod convention to give timely and due consideration to the proposals from the task force.

  • amend district bylaws based on proposals from the district board of directors in response to 2006 district convention directives to divide the Southern District into four geographic regions. As restructured, the board of directors will have four vice presidents, one from each region, and one pastor or lay representative from each circuit.
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    Return to Top

    Reporter Online is the Web version of Reporter, the official newspaper of
    The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod. Content is prepared by LCMS Communications.

    Comments are closed.
    LCMS News & Information