Mid-South returns Lampe to top post

June 12-14
Memphis, Tenn.


  • Rev. Ken Lampe, Memphis, president, third term, first ballot. mid-so-conv-lampe-new.gif

  • Rev. James Walter, Little Rock, Ark., first vice president.

  • Rev. Roger Paavola, Cookeville, Tenn., second vice president and secretary.

  • Rev. David Tews, Horseshoe Bend, Ark., third vice president.

  • Rev. Richard Elseroad, Knoxville, Tenn., fourth vice president.
  • The officers were installed during the convention.

    Under the theme of “Fishers for Christ … Casting Our Nets,” from Luke 5:1-11, delegates to the district’s 17th convention voted to:

  • support the sanctity of human life by asking pastors to address the issue on a more regular basis.  The resolution also asks congregations to educate their members on the topic and encourage members to support life-affirming ministries with their time, talent, and treasure.

  • continue for three years the district’s annual $25,000 support for the ministry of the East of Lake Victoria Diocese of the Lutheran Church of Tanzania.

  • encourage all district congregations to take part in the Synod’s Fan into Flame campaign by sending representatives to informational circuit meetings and offering opportunities for individuals and congregations to participate.
  • Delegates and guests also honored former district president Rev. Norman Groteluschen for his 60 years of service with a plaque and a standing ovation, and welcomed seven congregations that joined the district since its last convention in 2006.

    Posted June 17, 2009

    Return to Top

    Reporter Online is the Web version of Reporter, the official newspaper of
    The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod. Content is prepared by LCMS Communications.

    Comments are closed.
    LCMS News & Information