Eighteen college fairs planned for fall

Eighteen Lutheran college fairs are planned for fall at locations around the country.

Representatives of the schools — the Synod’s 10 colleges and universities and those of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America and Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod — will be at the fairs to share information and answer questions.  Most fairs also will have career planning and financial-aid seminars.

Sponsored by the Lutheran Educational Conference of North America (LECNA), the college fairs are primarily for high-school sophomores and juniors, along with their parents.  Funding the fairs are LECNA-member schools and Thrivent Financial for Lutherans.

For detailed information about the colleges and universities represented at particular fairs or for directions to fairs, go to the LECNA Web site at www.lutherancolleges.org

Following is a list of the upcoming fairs, alphabetically by cities where they will be held, along with phone numbers of the sites for directions only:

  • Appleton, Wis. — Tuesday, Sept. 9 (6:30-8:30 p.m.), Thrivent Financial for Lutherans office, 4321 N. Ballard Road, (800) 847-4836.

  • Chicago North — Tuesday, Sept. 16 (7-9 p.m.), Evangelical Lutheran Church of St. Luke, 1500 W. Belmont Ave., (773) 472-3383.

  • Denver — Sunday, Sept. 28 (4-7:30 p.m.) — Bethany Lutheran Church, 4500 E. Hampden Ave., Cherry Hills Village, (303) 758-2820.

  • Eden Prairie, Minn. — Thursday, Oct. 2 (6:30-9 p.m.), St. Andrew Lutheran Church, 13600 Technology Drive, (952) 937-2776.

  • Irvine, Calif. — Saturday, Sept. 20 (1-3 p.m.), Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport, 18800 MacArthur Blvd., (949) 833-9999.

  • Madison, Wis. — Wednesday, Sept. 10 (6:30-8:30 p.m.), Madison Marriott West, 1313 John Q. Hammons Drive, (608) 831-2000.

  • McHenry, Ill. — Sunday, Sept. 14 (12-3 p.m.), Shepherd of the Hills, 404 N. Green St., (815) 385-4030.

  • Milwaukee — Sunday, Sept. 7 (6:30-8:30 p.m.), Sheraton Milwaukee Brookfield, 375 S. Moorland Road, Brookfield, (262) 364-1100.

  • Naperville, Ill. — Monday, Sept. 15 (7-9 p.m.), Our Saviour’s Lutheran Church Celebration Community Life Center, 815 S. Washington St., (630) 355-2522.

  • Portland, Ore. — Monday, Sept. 22 (7-9 p.m.), St. Matthew Lutheran Church, 10390 S.W. Canyon Road, Beaverton, (503) 644-9148.

  • Seattle — Sunday, Sept. 21 (7-9 p.m.), Our Redeemer’s Lutheran Church, 2400 NW 85th St., (206) 783-7900.
  • Additional fairs will be held in the following cities, with details on locations and times on the LECNA Web site as they become available.

  • Bloomington, Ill. — Tuesday, Oct. 7.

  • Des Moines, Iowa — Wednesday, Oct. 8.

  • Detroit — Sunday, Oct. 5.

  • Kansas City, Kan. — Monday, Oct. 13.

  • Omaha, Neb. — Thursday, Oct. 9.

  • Rockford, Ill. — Monday, Oct. 6.

  • St. Louis — Sunday, Oct. 12.
  • Posted Aug. 21, 2008

    Return to Top

    Reporter Online is the Web version of Reporter, the official newspaper of
    The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod. Content is prepared by LCMS Communications.

    Comments are closed.
    LCMS News & Information