Convention re-elects Hartwig, Kuchta

ST. LOUIS — Delegates to the 62nd Regular Convention of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod returned Dr. Raymond L. Hartwig to his office as Secretary of the Synod during elections held this afternoon (July 12).


Also returned to his position as Vice President-Finance—Treasurer was Thomas W. Kuchta, who ran unopposed.


Hartwig received 641 (54.6 percent) of the 1,174 votes cast.  Rev. David L. Mahsman, the Synod’s director of news and information, received 533 votes (45.4 percent).


Hartwig, 58, of St. Louis, has served as Synod secretary the last six years. Previously, he was president of the Synod’s South Dakota District for 10 years and, before that, a parish pastor.


Kuchta, 62, of Town and Country, Mo., is completing his first three-year term in his current office.  He also has served on various synodical, district and university committees and boards.  He received 100 percent of the 1,122 votes cast.


Posted July 12, 2004


Return to Top

Reporter Online is the Web version of Reporter, the official newspaper of
The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod. Content is prepared by LCMS Communications.

Comments are closed.
LCMS News & Information