Congregations nominate president, first vice president slates

By David L. Mahsman

The names of the nominees who will be on the ballot for Synod president and first vice president at this summer’s Synod convention were announced March 22 by Synod Secretary Raymond Hartwig.
 Pres Nominees 2004
The nominees for Synod president who will be on the ballot are, in alphabetical order:

  • Dr. William R. Diekelman, 57, president of the Synod’s Oklahoma District and pastor of Faith Lutheran Church, Owasso, Okla.;

  • Dr. Gerald B. Kieschnick, 61, incumbent president of the Synod;

  • Dr. Kurt E. Marquart, 69, associate professor of systematic theology at Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne;

  • Rev. Daniel Preus, 55, incumbent first vice president of the Synod; and

  • Dr. Dean O. Wenthe, 59, president of the Fort Wayne seminary.

Hartwig did not release the number of nominations each of the five received or say whether anyone with more nominations than any of the five declined to be on the ballot.  LCMS bylaws provide that the five men receiving the most nominations from the Synod’s congregations and who allow their names to stand for election will be on the ballot.
The Convention Workbook, scheduled for mailing in late April, will include the names of all those nominated and the number of nominations each received, Hartwig noted.
 First-VP Nominees
Nominees on the ballot for first vice president are, in alphabetical order:

  • Dr. William Diekelman;

  • Dr. Ronald M. Garwood, 61, president of the Synod’s Wyoming District;

  • Rev. Vernon D. Gundermann, 66, pastor of Concordia Lutheran Church, Kirkwood, Mo.;

  • Rev. Daniel Preus; and

  • Dr. Wallace R. Schulz, 59, evangelist with the Lutheran Heritage Foundation and second vice president of the Synod.

Each of the Synod’s member congregations was entitled to nominate two ordained ministers each for president and first vice president.
Under a new procedure adopted by the 2001 convention, congregations this year could nominate up to a total of four ordained ministers for second through fifth vice president.  The ballot for those positions will include the 20 men with the most nominations and who agree to allow their names to stand.  (See related story, “Congregations nominate for vice presidents two through five.”)
Until this year, the second through fifth vice presidents were nominated at the convention by the convention delegates.
Nominations for president and the vice-president positions closed March 10.  Additional nominations may be made from the convention floor, however.
This year’s convention will be July 10-15 in St. Louis, under the theme, “One Mission Ablaze! … to the Ends of the Earth.”

Posted March 23, 2004


Return to Top

Reporter Online is the Web version of Reporter, the official newspaper of
The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod. Content is prepared by LCMS Communications.

Comments are closed.
LCMS News & Information